Jan 122013
 

Today’s Kindle Teen Daily Deal is Dreamland ($2.99), by Sarah Dessen.

Book Description
“Wake up, Caitlin.” My English teacher wasn’t the only person who’d noticed.

“Caitlin!” the dance coach barked as I flubbed another cartwheel.

“Caitlin?” Rina, my best friend, asked. “Hello?”

And finally, the one voice to which I snapped to attention, every time.

“Caitlin,” Rogerson said, and I listened so hard, trying to tell just by the cadence what might happen when we were alone.

What they don’t understand is that Caitlin can’t afford to leave this dreamland, this half-sleeping state where everything and everyone can be kept at arm’s length. Because then she’d have to face the ugly truth about her relationship with Rogerson: magnetic, fascinating–and very dangerous–Rogerson. What is it about Rogerson Biscoe…and why can’t she leave him? In her most challenging novel yet, acclaimed author Sarah Dessen guides readers through the harrowing netherworld of a young woman’s shattered dreams to her profound awakening.

Today’s Kindle Daily Deal is Mornings in Jenin ($1.99), by Susan Abulhawa, which has received a starred review from Publishers Weekly.

Book Description
Mornings in Jenin is a multi-generational story about a Palestinian family. Forcibly removed from the olive-farming village of Ein Hod by the newly formed state of Israel in 1948, the Abulhejos are displaced to live in canvas tents in the Jenin refugee camp. We follow the Abulhejo family as they live through a half century of violent history. Amidst the loss and fear, hatred and pain, as their tents are replaced by more forebodingly permanent cinderblock huts, there is always the waiting, waiting to return to a lost home.The novel’s voice is that of Amal, the granddaughter of the old village patriarch, a bright, sensitive girl who makes it out of the camps, only to return years later, to marry and bear a child. Through her eyes, with her evolving vision, we get the story of her brothers, one who is kidnapped to be raised Jewish, one who will end with bombs strapped to his middle. But of the many interwoven stories, stretching backward and forward in time, none is more important than Amal’s own. Her story is one of love and loss, of childhood and marriage and parenthood, and finally the need to share her history with her daughter, to preserve the greatest love she has. Set against one of the twentieth century’s most intractable political conflicts, Mornings in Jenin is a deeply human novel – a novel of history, identity, friendship, love, terrorism, surrender, courage, and hope. Its power forces us to take a fresh look at one of the defining conflicts of our lifetimes.

Today’s Kindle Romance Daily Deal is The Wicked One ($1.99), by Danelle Harmon.

Book Description
The bluest of blood; the boldest of hearts; the de Montforte brothers will take your breath away.”

When the powerful Lucien de Montforte, the Duke of Blackheath, arrives home to find a dangerous and vengeful woman waiting for him in his bed with pistol in hand, the master manipulator never dreams that he has finally met his match. But thanks to his scheming family’s successful attempts to force a wedding, the wicked and wily duke finds himself entangled in a web of his own making in this spectacular conclusion to Danelle Harmon’s critically acclaimed de Montforte Brothers series!

Today’s Kindle SciFi/Fantasy Daily Deal is Full Blooded ($1.99), the first novel in Amanda Carlson’s Jessica McClain series, published by Orbit.

Book Description
It’s not easy being a girl. It’s even harder when you’re the only girl in a family of werewolves. But it’s next to impossible when your very existence spells out the doom of your race… Meet Jessica McClain — she just became part of the pack.

In the vein of Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs, a new urban fantasy that rewrites the werewolf myth…

Glass Tiger ($1.59 / £0.99 UK), by Joe Gores, is the Kindle Deal of the day for those in the UK (no US edition).

Book Description
It’s election night in the US. Gustave Walberg becomes leader of the free world and legendary Vietnam sniper Halden Corwin murders his daughter and son-in-law before disappearing into the night. Driven by events that took place over forty years ago, he now has the President’s head in his sights. Escaping his old life as a CIA sniper in Colombia, Brendan Thorne has become a guard at a safari camp in Kenya’s Tsavo Game Park. But FBI agent Terrill Hatfield has other ideas – he arranges for Thorne to be deported back to the US, to protect the President. He is the only man who can stop Corwin and save the nation’s leader. As Thorne comes steadily closer to his quarry, he discovers he can trust no one, except perhaps the mysterious Janet Kestrel. Caught in a web of lies and ambitions, Thorne realizes it is no longer the President’s live he needs to save, but his own…

Against His Will ($1.99 Kindle, B&N), by Trish Jensen, is the Nook Daily Find, price matched on Kindle.

Book Description
They tried to resist each other, but it was impossible. Soon their passions were unleashed, and their self-control went to the dogs…

FBI agent Jake Donnelly is not the kind of man who names a dog “Muffin.” Especially not a jowly bulldog. But now Jake’s Aunt Sophie has left him her beloved Muffin, along with a sizable inheritance that has some strings attached. Jake and Muffin have to attend a two-week therapy course designed to work out any bonding issues they may have.

Enter Leanne Crosby, a pet shrink and owner of a luxury pet spa complete with private counseling sessions, a doggie dating service, and plenty of quirky advice on proper pet parenting.

When the gorgeous and brilliant Dr. Crosby sets out to help Jake and Muffin become soulmates, it soon becomes obvious that she and Jake are falling in puppy love.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.