Nov 152012

Game of Hearts (Main/UK), the first novel in the The Happily Ever After Company series by Kate Donovan, is free in the Kindle store and from Barnes & Noble and direct from publisher Samhain Publishing. There is a content warning, but doesn’t appear to be amongst their racier titles.

Book Description
Not a hero. Not a villain. Just a man afraid to risk his heart…and hers.

Aengus Yates broke Suzannah Hennessy’s heart. Twice. As an eight-year-old, she entreated the handsome young rancher to wait. He laughingly rebuffed her and went on to marry his beautiful fiancée. When he abandoned his family years later, Suzannah should have felt justified. Instead, her heart broke all over again—with disillusionment that the man she loved could do such a thing.

Now fully grown, Suzannah signs up along with her shy, self-conscious best friend to let a matchmaker find them husbands. Love may not be in her future, but there is adventure to be had in the Wild West.

Aengus has done his best to make a fresh start, to banish old betrayals. When Suzannah appears at his door, it’s clear she’s no longer a lovesick child. Now her womanly curves make his heart pound with desire. Yet he dare not trust himself to love again, and he plans to tell her just that…as soon as she stops berating him long enough to let him get a word in edgewise, to tell her he’s just trying to live an honorable life—against some very dishonorable odds.

Warning: Contains a love-soured heroine and a love-starved hero who’d like nothing better than to sweeten things up.

Get the free ebook from Barnes & Noble.
Get the free ebook from Samhain Publishing.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.